In Memory of KEN SHEPHERD Dreambox Media
In Memoriam

KEN SHEPHERD: "Worth the Wait" (EAR-1040)

CD cover

The late vocalist Ken Shepherd's CD "Worth the Wait" is virtually dedicated to the jazz heritage of Philadelphia, featuring Ken's own lyrics to Hank Mobley's "Up, Over and Out," pianist Eddie Green's lyrics to McCoy Tyner's "Blues on the Corner" (as well as on three original compositions) and "Trumpet Man," a heartfelt elegy in tribute to the legendary Johnny Coles.

Features trumpeter Duane Eubanks. Tyrone Brown is on bass and the "Cannonballistic" energy of alto saxophonist Ron Sutton adds spice throughout.
"Up, Over and Out" / "Beautiful Love" / "Blues on the Corner" / "Trumpet Man" / "If I Love Again" / "Body and Soul" / "With Open Eyes" / "This One's For You" / "Skeeter's Kitchen" / "Lovers' Holiday" / "Four" / "Violets For Your Furs"
Download individual tunes or entire CDs in MP3 format!

What the critics say:

"Ken Shepherd can swing as hard as Eddie Jefferson and croon a ballad like Billy Eckstine. He does four vocalese pieces, jumping feet first into the tunes with alto saxophonist Ron Sutton shadowing him. Shepherd's got a dark, creative voice and really knows how to stretch songs like a musician. He also knows how to apply the brakes and just sing straight and simply...foot-tapping delights in the best possible setting." - Cadence

"Shepherd tackles Hank Mobley's bop lines right out of the chute in 'Up, Over And Out,' trading phrases and cranking up the intensity with saxophonist Ron Sutton. Contrasting that introduction with 'Beautiful Love,' the listener realizes that Shepherd is more complex than just scat or vocalese: He sings an affecting ballad as well. Backed by one of the most in-demand rhythm sections in Philadelphia, Shepherd's enthusiasm for his craft shines through in a varied repertoire displaying his influences especially from Eddie Jefferson, but also from Joe Williams and Billy Eckstine as well...
(don't) miss an outstanding practitioner of the art of male jazz singing." - Jazz News

Join our mailing list for a chance to win a free CD! Go to our "Contest Page" for details.

  • Mail-order using our ***E-Z Form*** or via secure, encrypted credit-card authorization with automatic confirmation.

  • order
  • How-to-Order Information
  • Other Artists' homeCurrent Releases
    Send us e-mail:

  • © 2004-2007 Dreambox Media. All Rights Reserved. Do not duplicate without permission.